Skip Navigation LinksSisters of the Holy Cross > About Us > Publications & Media > Media Releases > Sisters of the Holy Cross elect new leadership


Contact: Amy H. Smessaert
Communications Director
Congregation of the
Sisters of the Holy Cross
Telephone: (574) 284-5728
Date:September 12, 2014 
Leadership Team 2009-2014 
The Leadership Team, left to right: Sisters Angela Golapi Palma, Suzanne Brennan, M. Veronique (Wiedower), Brenda Cousins and Sharlet Ann Wagner

Sisters of the Holy Cross Elect New Leadership

Notre Dame, Indiana — The Congregation of the Sisters of the Holy Cross installed its new Leadership Team on Sunday, September 7, 2014, in the Church of Our Lady of Loretto, Saint Mary’s, Notre Dame, Indiana. The team was elected in June to a five-year term at the congregation’s Twenty-fifth General Chapter meeting in Entebbe, Uganda.

Sister M. Veronique (Wiedower), CSC, is president; Sister Sharlet Ann Wagner, CSC, is first councilor; Sister Angela Golapi Palma, CSC, is councilor; Sister Brenda Cousins, CSC, is general secretary; and Sister Suzanne Brennan, CSC, is general treasurer.

Sister Veronique worked for the past five years at Saint Mary’s College, a sponsored ministry of the Sisters of the Holy Cross in Notre Dame, Indiana, serving as campus minister and then as vice president for mission. Her prior ministries include teaching music to high school students and ministering at St. Joseph Seminary in Palo Alto, California, where she helped with liturgy and music. She also was director for women religious for the Archdiocese of San Diego. In addition, Sister Veronique worked in initial formation for the Sisters of the Holy Cross. From 1994 to 2004 she served on the congregation’s Leadership Team. Sister Veronique entered the congregation from San Diego in 1965.

Sister Sharlet served as general secretary on the Leadership Team for the past five years. An immigration attorney, she practiced in California and at Holy Cross Ministries, a nonprofit organization sponsored by the Sisters of the Holy Cross in Salt Lake City, Utah. She entered the congregation in 1988 from Santa Ana, California.

Sister Golapi was elected to serve as councilor on the congregation’s Leadership Team in December 2012 to fill a vacancy following the death of Sister Philomena Quiah, CSC. While serving as councilor she also assisted at Brother Andre High School in Noakhali, Bangladesh. Over the years she served as teacher and parish minister in Bangladesh, Uganda and Ghana. She also ministered in vocations and initial formation. Sister Golapi entered the congregation from Kharbaria, Bangladesh, in 1987.

For the past year Sister Brenda worked in mission integration at Saint Alphonsus Regional Medical Center in Boise, Idaho. She taught school in Virginia, served in parish ministry in Peru and Utah, directed novices in California and Uganda, and was the first novice director of the International Novitiate at Saint Mary’s from 2008 to 2012. Sister Brenda entered the congregation in 1977 from Alexandria, Virginia.

Sister Suzanne entered the congregation from Chicago, Illinois, in 1965. She served as a social worker, was in administration in various hospitals, served in governance roles, and ministered for the last 16 years as executive director of Holy Cross Ministries in Salt Lake City, which serves low-income and at-risk families throughout Utah.

About the Sisters of the Holy Cross
Founded in 1841 in Le Mans, France, the Congregation of the Sisters of the Holy Cross is an international community of women religious whose motherhouse is located in Notre Dame, Indiana. The congregation serves in Bangladesh, Brazil, Ghana, India, Mexico, Peru, Uganda and the United States. Sisters of the Holy Cross are called to participate in the prophetic mission of Jesus to witness God’s love for all creation. Their ministries focus on providing education and health care services, eradicating material poverty, ending gender discrimination, and promoting just, mutual relationships among people, countries and the entire Earth community.

© 2016 Congregation of the Sisters of the Holy Cross. All rights reserved.